Fluis bubble

Timothy B. Campbell Innovation Award

This award honors the memory of Tim Campbell, a CS PhD Student who was widely known for his innovative spirit, creativity, and cross-functional collaboration. This award is presented to a Computer Science or Electrical Engineering undergraduate or graduate student who demonstrates a spirit of innovation, collaboration, and creativity through her or his research and personal life. This award is funded by the Timothy B. Campbell Memorial Scholarship Foundation.

Deadlines and Dates

Deadline to Nominate February 4, 2018 11:59PM (PST)
Notification of Award May 4, 2018

Eligibility Requirements

Current applicants must be pursuing a degree in Computer Science or Electrical Engineering at the undergraduate or graduate level at UC Berkeley.

Award info

One award will be distributed each year in the amount of $2,000.

Selection Process

Nomination deadlines are handled by the Berkeley EECS department. You must be a faculty, student, or staff of the EECS department to nominate.

Nomination Procedure

Compose a letter (approximately 1 page) for each nominee explaining your reason for recommending the student. Nominators should specifically address how the nominee meets the award criteria. Attach any relevant materials that will assist the Student Awards Committee in making their decision, such as: publications, CV, additional letters of nomination. The committee may seek additional information concerning the most promising nominees. Previous recipients of an award are ineligible to receive the same award again, but may be recommended for any remaining awards. Nominators are encouraged to refer to the description of each award, which includes a list of previous awardees.


Nomination deadlines are handled by the Berkeley EECS department

Submit a Nomination

Nominations Due Sunday, February 4, 2018 at midnight.

Past Recipients


Varda shrivastava

Varda Shrivastava is an undergraduate Computer Science major at UC Berkeley.


Andrew head

Andrew Head is a Ph.D. Candidate in Computer Science at UC Berkeley advised by Björn Hartmann and Marti Hearst. He researches how intelligent interfaces can help programmers share expertise—through code examples, tutorials, teacher feedback, and notebooks. He has also studied developer tool design as an intern at Microsoft Research and Google. His work is supported by an NDSEG Fellowship, and has received best paper awards and nominations at top conferences like CHI. Andrew had the opportunity to meet Tim and Cesar at the 2014 Cal visit days the two put on together.


Ahn geun ho

Ahn Geun Ho is an undergrad studying Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at UC Berkeley. His nominating professor stated, “Geun Ho has proven himself to be a very creative and driven researcher. Although still an undergrad, he made two important research findings...He demonstrated that he can control strain in the grown monolayer semiconductors by relying on the mismatch between the coefficient of thermal expansion of the monolayer and substrate. Second, he demonstrated that by properly growing and relaxing the monolayers, he can achieve a high photoluminescence quantum yield of up to 30%. I sometimes forget that he is an undergrad!” This notable research within the context of his undergraduate studies reminded us all of Tim’s enthusiastic start at the University of Washington.



Tomás Vega Galvez innovates as an undergraduate much the same as Tim did in the labs. Eric Paulos shares Mr. Galvez is “one of the most dedicated and creative students” especially in Critical Making course work. Tomás said, “I plan to focus on heading back to Peru in order to improve the communities in which I was raised.” Tomás recently started the Masters Program at the MIT Media Lab.



Joanne Lo is the founder of Elysian Labs, Inc and an alumna of the Human-Computer Interaction - Electrical Engineering PhD program at UC Berkeley. She was advised by Professor Paulos to develop simple yet creative fabrications methods for the Maker's community. Joanne received her B.S. degree in Biomedical Engineering and M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from UC Davis.,